Site français English website

About us

Created in 2005, the business of Vercken & Gaullier Law Firm is solely focused on two specialised areas: literary and artistic property (copyright, neighbouring rights, database producer rights), and digital law (IT contracts and litigation, liability of intermediaries, personal data, e-commerce, e-reputation, etc.).

 

With the cooperation of Valérie-Laure Benabou, Professor of Law (PhD), and of Benjamin Jean, Open Source/Open Data technical consultant, a structured team of six lawyers is at the service of the firm’s clients, which consist of large international groups, SMEs, government departments, public authorities and institutions.

 

The firm has built up a reputation in all traditional media sectors (publishing, music, television and radio, art, etc.), but also in new sectors (video games, multimedia, websites, platforms, market places, social networks, software, etc.). The team is passionate about information technologies and understands both the technical and commercial aspects of the digital world.

 

In all these areas, the firm’s work ranges from drafting or negotiating contracts or settlements, consultancy and drafting legal opinions to assisting and representing clients in pre-litigation or litigation. It also assists its clients with their lobbying campaigns at national or European level. Lastly, the firm is regularly required to participate in audits for equity operations or company takeovers.

 

With the experience of its two partners, Florence Gaullier and Gilles Vercken, who previously worked for a large international firm, the firm has achieved a balanced and effective synthesis of methods used by large and small firms, which involve rigour, a permanent watch on legal developments, the capacity to manage large projects, including internationally due to its worldwide network of contacts, efficient organisation, proximity, understanding of client needs, availability and responsiveness.

 

The firm actively participates in discussions and initiatives on the future of law and digital technology: articles, symposiums, committees, legal opinion to the relevant authorities. The team is a member of several professional organisations including: ADIJ (Association for the Development of Information Technology Law), AFCDP (French Association of Data Protection Officers), AFPIDA (French Association for International Copyright Protection), AIPPI (International Association for Intellectual Property Protection), ALAI (International Literary and Artistic Association), APRAM (Association of Trademark and Design Law Practitioners), Art & Law, CRAI (IT Procurement Managers Club), CSPLA (High Council for Literary and Artistic Property), Cyberlex, GESTE, IAEL (International Association of Entertainment Lawyers), IAPP (International Association of Privacy Professionals), TEE (Trans Europe Experts) Network.

Due to its professional experience, its policy of strong relations with specialised academics and its perfect understanding of its clients' needs, Vercken & Gaullier Law Firm is known for offering the highest level of expertise in its areas of activity. For this reason it has been included in the most recognised international rankings for more than ten years (Legal 500, Chambers and Partners, Managing Intellectual Property, Leaders League, etc.).

 

 

Vercken & Gaullier Law Firm in brief

 

Sectors: music, entertainment (in particular video games), Internet, digital marketing, art, IT, media (television, radio, press, publishing), e-commerce.

 

Areas of legal expertise: literary and artistic property and digital law.

 

Services: legal opinion, litigation, contracts, consultancy, negotiation, mediation, support with lobbying campaigns.

 

Team values: generosity, legal expertise, technical and commercial expertise in its clients’ business activities, passion for information technologies and the digital world, good negotiators, in particular Gilles Vercken and Florence Gaullier, permanent watch, active participation in discussions and initiatives on the future of law and digital technology.

 

Growth areas: personal data law audits, consultancy and assistance with regulatory affairs and lobbying campaigns at European level in the areas of copyright, media and information technologies, consultancy and assistance with Open Source and Open Data.

 

Assets:

Very strong links with academia: the firm has forged strong links with university professors and senior lecturers, which enables the firm to provide very high quality advice.

For example:

+ the team includes Valérie-Laure Benabou, Associate Professor of Law;

+ the firm has created its own thesis award in partnership with the Intellectual Property Research Institute (IRPI);

+ the team often works with PhD students or academics specialised in a specific subject when this may be useful for the case.

Specific knowledge of issues related to Open Source and Open Data: the firm has developed specific legal expertise in Open Source and Open Data and works with a technical consultant, Benjamin Jean, a specialist known for his technical knowledge of these subjects.

Lobbying: the legal firm participates in drafting pitches, position papers and amendments. These lobbying campaigns are launched at both national and European level.

Collective management of copyrights and neighbouring rights: the firm’s expertise in negotiating with collective management companies for the management of copyrights and neighbouring rights is particularly renowned.

 

Topical subjects: contract law reform, the Blockchain, robots, 3D printing, personal data regulations, the issues of Open Data and Open Innovation, nPVR, the concepts of digital data, files and content, platforms, the European copyright reform bill, and more generally the Digital Single Strategy of the European Union, etc.

 

Examples of typical services:

Literary and artistic property: legal opinion; drafting and negotiating contracts in the following areas: music, art, publishing, press, television, radio and video games; negotiating with collective management companies; any type of copyright and neighbouring rights litigation.

Digital: legal opinion; drafting and negotiating software contracts (including for large-scale operations); assistance with audits of IT licences by large software publishers; audits of compliance with data protection law and general regulations on data protection (personal data protection); drafting privacy and cookies policies; drafting general terms and conditions of use, of sale or of services; all types of litigation in digital or information technologies (NICT) law.

Présentation

Créé en 2005, l'activité du cabinet Vercken & Gaullier est uniquement centrée sur deux axes spécialisés : la propriété littéraire et artistique (droit d’auteur, droits voisins, droit du producteur de bases de données) d’une part, et le droit du numérique, d’autre part (contrats et contentieux informatiques, responsabilité des intermédiaires, données à caractère personnel, e-commerce, e-réputation, etc.).

 

Avec la collaboration de Valérie-Laure Benabou, professeur agrégée de droit et de Benjamin Jean, consultant technique « Open Source / Open Data », une équipe structurée de six avocats est au service des clients du cabinet : grands groupes internationaux, PME, ministères, collectivités publiques, institutions.

 

Le cabinet s’est construit une réputation dans tous les secteurs traditionnels des médias (édition, musique, télévision et radio, art, etc.), mais également dans les nouveaux secteurs des médias (jeux vidéo, multimédia, sites internet, plateformes, market place, réseaux sociaux, logiciels, etc.). L’équipe est passionnée par les technologies de l’information et comprend les aspects tant techniques que commerciaux du monde digital.

 

Dans tous ces domaines, l’intervention du cabinet peut aller de la rédaction ou la négociation de contrats ou de transactions, du conseil et de la rédaction de consultations juridiques jusqu’à l’assistance et la représentation des clients dans des précontentieux ou contentieux. Il assiste également ses clients dans leurs actions de lobbying au niveau national ou européen. Le cabinet est enfin régulièrement amené à participer à des audits dans le cadre d’opérations de prise de participation ou de rachat de sociétés.

 

Fort de l’expérience de ses deux associés, Florence Gaullier et Gilles Vercken, qui ont auparavant travaillé dans un grand cabinet international, le cabinet réalise une synthèse harmonieuse et efficace des méthodes des grands et des petits cabinets : rigueur, veille permanente de l’actualité juridique, capacité de gestion de projets importants, y compris à l’international grâce à son réseau de correspondants dans le monde entier, organisation efficace, proximité, compréhension des besoins des clients, disponibilité et réactivité.

 

Le cabinet participe activement aux réflexions et aux actions sur l’avenir du droit et du numérique : articles, colloques, commissions, consultations auprès des autorités compétentes. L’équipe est membre de plusieurs organisations professionnelles dont : l’AFCDP (Association Française des Correspondants à la protection des Données à caractère Personnel), l’AFPIDA (Association Française pour la Protection Internationale du Droit d'Auteur), l’AIPPI (Association Internationale pour la Protection de la Propriété Intellectuelle), l’ALAI (Association Littéraire et Artistique Internationale), l’APRAM (Association des Praticiens du Droit des Marques et des Modèles), Art & Droit, le CRAI (Club des Responsables Achats Informatiques), le CSPLA (Conseil Supérieur de la Propriété Littéraire et Artistique), Cyberlex, le GESTE, l’IAEL (International Association of Entertainment Lawyers), l'IAPP (International Association of Privacy Professionals), le réseau TEE (Trans Europe Experts).

Grâce à son expérience professionnelle, sa politique de relations approfondies avec le milieu universitaire spécialisé et sa parfaite connaissance des besoins de ses clients, le cabinet Vercken & Gaullier est reconnu pour offrir le meilleur niveau de compétence dans ses domaines d'activités. Il est cité à ce titre dans les référencements internationaux les plus reconnus depuis plus de dix ans (Legal 500, Chambers and Partners, Managing Intellectual Property, Décideurs Stratégie Finance Droit etc.).

 

 

 

 

Le cabinet Vercken & Gaullier en quelques mots…

 

Les secteurs : musique, divertissement (en particulier les jeux-vidéo), Internet, marketing digital, art, informatique, médias (télévision, radio, presse, édition), e-Commerce.

 

Les domaines de compétence juridiques : la propriété littéraire et artistique et le droit du numérique.

 

Les prestations : consultation juridique, contentieux, contrats, conseil, négociation, médiation, accompagnement dans les actions de lobbying.

 

Les valeurs de l’équipe : générosité, expertise juridique, expertise technique et commercial des activités des clients, passionnée par les technologies de l’information et par le monde digital, bons négociateurs, en particulier Gilles Vercken et Florence Gaullier, veille permanente, participation active aux réflexions et aux actions sur l’avenir du droit et du numérique.

 

Les domaines de croissance : audit en droit des données à caractère personnel, conseil et assistance dans les affaires réglementaires et les actions de lobbying au niveau européen dans les domaines du droit d’auteur, des médias et des technologies de l’information, conseil et assistance en Open Source et Open Data.

 

Les atouts :

Des liens très forts avec le milieu universitaire : le cabinet a tissé des liens forts avec des professeurs d’université et des maîtres de conférences, ce qui permet au cabinet de fournir des conseils de très haute qualité.

Par exemple :

+ l’équipe inclut Valérie-Laure Benabou, professeur agrégée de droit ;

+ le cabinet a créé son propre prix de thèse en partenariat avec l’Institut de Recherche en Propriété Intellectuelle (IRPI) ;  

+ l'équipe travaille souvent avec des doctorants spécialisés sur un sujet spécifique quand c'est utile pour le dossier.

Une connaissance particulière des problématiques liées à l’Open Source et à l’Open Data : le cabinet a développé une expertise juridique spécifique en Open Source et en Open Data et travaille avec un consultant technique, Benjamin Jean, spécialiste reconnu de ces sujets dans ses aspects techniques.

Le lobbying : le cabinet participe à la rédaction d’argumentaires, de position papers et d’amendements. Ces actions de lobbying sont fournies tant au niveau national qu’européen.  

La gestion collective des droits d’auteurs et des droits voisins : l’expertise du cabinet en négociation avec les sociétés de gestion collective pour la gestion du droit d’auteur et des droits voisins est particulièrement reconnue.

 

Les sujets du moment : la réforme sur le droit des contrats, la Blockchain, les robots, l’impression 3D, le règlement sur les données à caractère personnel, les enjeux de l’Open Data et de l’Open Innovation, le nPVR, les notions de données, de fichiers et de contenus numériques, les plateformes, le projet de réforme européenne sur le droit d’auteur, et plus généralement la Digital Single Strategy de l’Union européenne, etc.

 

Exemples de prestations types :

Propriété littéraire et artistique : consultation juridique ; rédaction et négociation de contrats dans les domaines suivants : musique, art, édition, presse, télévision, radio et jeux vidéo ; négociation avec les sociétés de gestion collective ; tout type de contentieux en droit d’auteur et droits voisins.

Numérique : consultation juridique ; rédaction et négociation de contrats portant sur des logiciels (y compris pour des opérations de grande envergure) ; assistance dans le cadre des audits de licences informatiques des grands éditeurs de logiciels ; audits de conformité à la loi informatique et libertés et au règlement générale sur la protection des données (protection des données à caractère personnel) ; rédaction de politiques de confidentialité et de cookies ; rédaction de conditions générales d’utilisation, de vente ou de prestation ; tout type de contentieux en droit du numérique ou des technologies de l’information (NTIC).